Balloon Fiesta Fun!

Hola Readers!

It’s been quite a while!  As you know, we’re back here in the Land of Enchantment…and one of the most enchanting things about New Mexico (and Albuquerque in particular) is the International Balloon Fiesta!  This morning the weather was perfect and there were hundreds of balloons aloft, so I had to share some photos.

For those of you unfamiliar with the festival, hundreds of hot air balloons (many in “special shapes”) from around the world take off every morning from the festival grounds throughout the 9 day event (always the first 2 weekends of October), and then in the evenings stay tethered to the ground while lighting their burners for the “Balloon Glow.”   Since the balloons take off at about 7:00 a.m., you have to leave your house very early (we got a late start today – 5:45) and then sit in traffic to park – but once you’re there, there are balloons, food and merriment galore!  (I love hearing the excitement in the voices of first-timers – sometimes, like this morning, in several foreign languages.) And, in honor of the gluttonous pleasure of American festivals, yes, that is me eating a giant turkey leg at 9:30 a.m. (YUM)!  Enjoy…

 

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Nice to see you’re enjoying yourself back home! Looks like a great event.

    Reply
  2. Selma Rockett

     /  October 6, 2013

    oh I am a little homesick when I see you enjoying the balloons and EATING A TURKEY LEG!!!!!!!!!! THANKS FOR SHRRING SELMA

    Reply
  3. Ako

     /  October 6, 2013

    Just shared the pics with mom! Looks like an awesome time. I HAVE to make it out one of these years.

    Reply
  4. Hello, from your neighbor in Colorado! I just found your blog. May I email you with a few questions – having to do with your move to Italy? Grazie mille! Jen

    Reply
  5. Hope, good to see you again! Beautiful photos. I haven’t been but I think we’ll but the festival on the list of things to do.

    Reply
  6. Amiga! I’m so glad you posted, as I’ve been wanting to get a hold of you and not known how…Kiki and I are moving to old Mexico in a week or so and I’ll be officially entering the blogosphere. Let’s find a time to connect, if possible.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers

